Saturday, April 1, 2017

Most Anticipated Books of April 2017


It's April.
And with it Spring and books!

It's a wonderful time and... I can't wait for May.
Ooops, sorry about that. It's just that May has some books I've been dying to read for a year now.
But first, we must scourge through April!
So let's see what books we have this month ;) 





Alone in Paris by Ashley Earley
Publication date: April 1, 2017

If you know me for a while now, you probably know I don't usually read Contemporary Romance books.
I am - and always will be - a hardcore fantasy reader. 

But

Who doesn't love relaxing in our own world/universe when the mood strikes?
And while it's hard for me to love contemporaries just as much as I love fantasy, every now and then a great one manages to captor my heart and remind me contemporaries can be just as awesome. 

Warning: quite a lot of - hopefully amazing - contemporary books this month. 

But I'm getting off topic here. 

Breathe, Taylor.
Breathe.
Just breathe. 

This is a story about a girl, all alone in Paris after surviving a car crash that killed both of her parents, dealing with her grief, place in the world, and unexpected love.

Lonely. 
My heart grips as the word crosses my mind. So many different feelings come with the word, not just loneliness. The word went beyond its definition. Loneliness has a deeper meaning to those who truly know what it means to be alone.  



Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett
Publication date: April 4, 2017

What if your online crush turned out to be someone you knew in real? Someone you never expected? 
This is a trope I'll never tire of reading. At least not soon. 

And that's not all this book is about.
This review really made me want to pick this one up.




Publication date: April 4, 2017

Definitions of Indefinable Things seems to be not your typical YA contemporary romance. 
It seems to deal with Mental Health and other undefinable things. 
I'm looking forward to trying this one out.




Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray
 Publication date: April 4, 2017

Ever since Illuminae I literally jump up in excitement whenever I see a cool new book that takes place in space (!). 

And this once... well, this one sounds really-really cool. 

I mean, who wouldn't want to read a book about a teen soldier & a sophisticated robot from two different sides of a never-ending war, lost in space? 

Right? 
 
"Your soul is bigger than your programming." 



Toward a Secret Sky by Heather Maclean
Publication date: April 4, 2017 

This one sounds like your regular run of the mill fantasy story about a recently orphaned girl moving in with relatives she never met and finding herself mixed up in a society of magic, all the while falling in love with a boy she definitely should not fall in love with. 

And of course, no matter how common they get, I can never quite resist those type of stories. They are the ones who got me into reading, after all. 

P.S: I just found out I also received an ARC of this one from Netgalley! Excited to read it.




Out of the Shadows by Ashlee Nicole Bye
Publication date: April 11, 2017 

Nobody ever said death would be easy... 

With a mix of heart, humor and hair-raising action, Out of the Shadows is the adventure of an afterlifetime, perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Kresley Cole. 

Say no more. I'm in. I'm so in.
It's been a while since I heard of a book that is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, and god do I hope this one is. 




The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli
Publication date: April 11, 2017

I read - and liked - Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda last year. So of course, when I heard Becky Albertalli was coming up with another "oh, that sounds really good!" book, of course my immediate response was "I want to read this!". 

A YA contemporary romance with LGBT elements (not the protagonist, but her sister), sounds like the kind of cute funny read everyone are looking for.

I can't seem to shake this perpetual awareness of being Molly.



Literally by Lucy Keating
Publication date: April 11, 2017

A book about a book about falling in love.

A story inside a story!
Which sounds complex and interesting and hopefully amazing! 

Does the author really have all the power? Or can the character create a future of her own?
We shall see.




Duels and Deception by Cindy Anstey
Publication date: April 11, 2017

Now this book I'm not so sure about. 

Not because it doesn't sound interesting or anything (it does), but because the reviews are giving me some mixed messages here. 

However

I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of this book from Netgalley. So I'm definitely giving this Historical fiction YA romance a go!
Been a while since I read a YA historical fiction as well. 




Spindle Fire by Lexa Hillyer
Publication date: April 11, 2017

A dark Sleeping Beauty retelling & a synopsis that makes sure I cannot resist. 
About two sisters - Isabelle and Aurora - on two quests. 

My only worry is that the reviews seem to be very mixed. So I'm not sure how it's going to go.

Despite that, I really can't resist a dark fairy tale retelling of any kind.




180 Seconds by Jessica Park
Publication date: April 25, 2017

And the last (but not least) contemporary romance book of the month is 180 Seconds by Jessica Park. 

Some of you may know her as the author of Flat-Out-Love - a very fun and interesting contemporary romance I read 2 years ago and quite enjoyed. 

This one seems to be another cute and interesting read which I hope to enjoy as well!




So!
These are all the books I'm anticipating this month.
Quite a fun bunch, don't you say?
I still can't wait for May (Lord of Shadows, The Dark Prophecy *hyperventilating*),
but I can't say I'm not looking forward to these April books as well ;)
What about you guys?
Anticipating any of these? Any I didn't mention?
Let me know since I love hearing your thoughts!
See you soon (:
Until then...




The opposite of faith isn't doubt. The opposite of faith is certainty.
         -- Defy the Stars, Claudia Gray 



9 comments:

  1. I'm excited for Defy the Stars, The Upside of Unrequited, Duels and Deception, Spindle Fire too!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ohh, I hope we'll both love them :D

      Delete
  2. Ahhh, I can't wait for The Upside of Unrequited!!!!! Defy the Stars sounds really interesting too! Also thank you for making me away for Out of the Shadowlands! It sounds really interesting. Just added it to my TBR :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ooops Out of the Shadows, haha. One day I'll stop making typos 😂

      Delete
    2. Oh yay, I'm so happy to hear that!
      Out of the shadows... oh please be as good as you sound!
      And don't you worry about it, I'm a fellow "constantly making typos" person '^^
      So many great looking books! Let's love them all :D

      Delete
  3. Spindle Fire has SUCH a lovely cover *o*

    ReplyDelete
  4. Oooh, I'm looking forward to The Upside of Unrequited too! I loved Simon vs the Homo Sapiens (loved loved loved it), so I'm certain this one will be equally as good :) And Lucy Keating's book sounds so interesting! I mean, I've never heard of a book actually about the author and her characters. How neat would that be if the characters you wrote actually came to life and you could have a conversation with them? So cool!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on The Upside of Unrequited, then! (:
      I know, right?! If fantasy was only real... I would have LOVED to have a chat with my characters <3__<3
      Maybe not ALL of them, though. Some of them are evil ;) But then again, I created them so... I wonder ;)

      Delete